Quilt Show Reviews

Have you been to a quilt show recently? If so, tell your fellow quilters about it. Big show or small, we want to hear all about it.

Add a show review

Note: You may have to reload this page to have your review appear.

A.Q.S. 2005

Held at: Paducah, Ky. on: April 21-24
Sponsored by: A.Q.S

Reviewer: James E. Lorrey

This was our (my wife Gale) first time at the Paducah show. We stayed with a host family near Paducah and enjoyed the show very, very much. The quilts were fantastic and the venders were great as well. I was in the market for a free arm quilter and was able to try just about every bran d available. We made several large purchases and were very comfortable in doing so.
We started with the show preview and stayed for four days. The people of Paducah made us feel at home, at the show and in the city. Paducah is a wonderful place to visit. We will be back.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Nicoles supper short show

Held at: in my room on: every day
Sponsored by: TV shows

Reviewer: Nicole Castagna

I want to show all of the kids all of the new
shows on disney chanel.I hope they all like it.

Overall Rating:


Machine Quilters Exposition

Held at: Manchester, New Hampshire on: April 15-17th, 2005
Sponsored by: held at the Raddison Hotel

Reviewer: lynda laroche

This was a fantastic quilt expo and show. The quilts were all incredible. Machine quilting has definitly come into its own here.Plenty of free water and seating to rest.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Quilters Heritage Celebration

Held at: Lancaster. Pennsylvania on: Mar 31 thru April 3rd 2005
Sponsored by: rita Barber

Reviewer: Lynda Laroche

This show was very good as usual. Lots of art quilts and wallhangings. Not too many traditional quilts. Lack of water and cups this yr was a disappointment, we had to purchase bottled water and there were less chairs scattered to sit in. Charging for parking across the street seemed a bit extreme. It was always free before this yr. It seems that the high admission charge should cover additional seating and water and cups that was always available previously. Vendors were plentiful and excellent.

Overall Rating: Very Good


Inter'nal Quilt Show in Houston

Held at: Houston, Tx George E Brown on: Nov 1-8 2004

Reviewer: LeiLani V

This is was my first show and WOW. The quilts were absolutely incredible. The vendors were so eager to help and the teachers were amazing. The Hilton was so nice. We didn't have a need for anything. Next year will plan on staying longer and bringing another suitcase!!

Overall Rating: Excellent


A Quilters Gathering

Held at: Nashua, New Hampshire on: November 4 - 7, 2004
Sponsored by: New Hampshire Quilt Guild

Reviewer: Meredith Fossett

This show was excellent. The quilts were spectacular, the vendors were numerous, great variety and friendly. The instructors were excellent. I enjoyed three workshops with Sandy Bonsib and my friend enjoyed a workshop with Judy Neihmeyer. The Sherton, Nashua New Hampshire is most accomodating and quick to fix any unforsee problem. And...the fellow quilters are happy and just plain enjoying themselves. It was my second year of attendance and I discovered that a great majority of my fellow quilters plan a vaction around the Gathering and have been attending for 10+ years which speaks of the shows quality and the organizers attention to every detail, and most of these repeat quilters get involved in some way as volunteers, again a high compliment to the organizers. I just came back and I am already in anticipation of next year's Gathering.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Hidden Treasures

Held at: Mayo Civic Center, Rochester, Minnesota on: June 9 - 12, 2004
Sponsored by: Minnesota Quilters

Reviewer: Suzanne Myers Otto

Excellent show, great faculty, and expansive facility. Numerous good-natured volunteers run this event. Torrential rainfall and tornado warnings did not dampen contagious enthusiasm for this show. I was so impressed by it all, I promptly joined Minnesota Quilters, even though I live in Wisconsin! Their 2005 annual show will be in Duluth, June 9 - 11th at the Duluth Convention Center. Attendance highly advised, hotels filling up quickly!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Hidden Treasures

Held at: Mayo Civic Center, Rochester, Minnesota on: June 9 - 12, 2004
Sponsored by: Minnesota Quilters

Reviewer: Suzanne Myers Otto

Excellent show, great faculty, and expansive facility. Numerous good-natured volunteers run this event. Torrential rainfall and tornado warnings did not dampen contagious enthusiasm for this show. I was so impressed by it all, I promptly joined Minnesota Quilters, even though I live in Wisconsin! Their 2005 annual show will be in Duluth, June 9 - 11th at the Duluth Convention Center. Attendance highly advised, hotels filling up quickly!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Stitches in Bloom

Held at: Chatham, Ontario on: April 22 - 24, 2004
Sponsored by: Chatham-Kent Quilters' Guild

Reviewer: Jo-Ann Henderson

"Stitches in Bloom" featured over 300 pieces of which 125 were bed quilts. Most of the items were new or had not been shown in the Chatham-Kent Quilters' Guild's first show in 2001. An excellent variety of work with a wide range of techniques was featured. The Jelly Jar Cafe sold homemade soup, sandwiches and sweets. There was also an excellent vendors' mall. Many positive comments were given by the visitors to the show.

Overall Rating: Excellent


AQS

Held at: PADUCAH, KY on: APRIL 21-27, 2004
Sponsored by: AQS

Reviewer: RITA FOWLER

THIS WAS MY SIXTH YEAR ATTENDING THE SHOW AND THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT AS USUAL. HOWEVER, I WOULD LIKE FOR THE JUDGES TO HAVE MORE TRADITIONAL QUILTS ON REVEIW. THE "ART" QUILTS ARE BEAUTIFUL TOO BUT THE EVERYDAY QUILTER IS SOME TIMES FORGOTTEN. IT IS ALSO HARD TO COMPETE WITH PEOPLE WHO ARE TEACHERS, ARTIST AND GRAPHIC TECHNICIANS. THERE ARE ALWAYS LOTS OF VENDORS, SO YOU CAN JUST ABOUT GET ANYTHING YOU ARE LOOKING FOR. THE TOWN IS A WONDERFUL HOST FOR A WEEK TO ALL TYPES OF "STRANGE" LADIES AND MEN. THANKS ALOT TO PADUCAH FOLKS.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Quilt and Sewing Fest at Myrtle Beach

Held at: Myrtle Beach, SC on: April 15-17, 2004
Sponsored by: Mancuso Show Management

Reviewer: Lynn Elliott

This show was a disapointment to me and my quilt group. The venue was nice and the vendor area was also very good (and large), but the quilts weren't very strong. There was a special exhibition theme of "Quilts of the Pacific Rim" showing a group of quilts from each country in the area. I can't imagine how these quilts were selected for display -- they must have had a quota from each area (e.g., Hawaii, New Zealand, Japan, Australia, etc.). Many of the quilts were weak....certainly not the best nor the most recent quilts from any place. We had hoped to see something better. There was also a small juried exhibit of local quilters with a 'sea theme' - it seemed to be tacked on as an afterthought. I would have expected this show to have a national call for entries like the Mancuso show it replaced in Greensboro or the show in Williamsburg. This was just an excuse to take $8 per head - no competition and nothing noteworthy.

Overall Rating: Poor


International Quilt Festival/Chicago

Held at: Rosemont, Illinois on: March 26, 27, 28, 2004
Sponsored by: Quilts, Inc.

Reviewer: Pat Hardwick

I attended the show in 2003 and again in 2004 and the 2004 was greatly improved. The flow into the exhibit hall was much improved over 2003, they had plenty of chairs around the outside of the hall for resting and the eating area was so much better, as were the restrooms. There was a large crowd on Saturday, the day I attended, but only some bottlenecks in the vendor areas with overcrowding. Very nice display of quilts, however, I was disappointed in the lack of traditional quilts on display and competitions for traditional quilts. Art quilts are nice, but I perfer viewing something that I could achieve. Vendor areas had lots of nice quilts, jackets, mini-quilts, etc. on display. Vendors were very friendly and helpful. I will plan to go again next year, in fact, our guild is planning an overnight stay.

Overall Rating: Very Good


Road to California

Held at: Ontario, Ca. on: Mid January

Reviewer: Katherine Chevalier

This was the second time I have attended and taken classes. There are so many wonderful classes to take, it is hard to make a decision! So many quilts and vendors that you need to go several days! Good food, plenty of restrooms (they turn all the mens restrooms into womens!).

Overall Rating: Excellent


Those Fabulous Quilts! Coopersville Michigan

Held at: Coopersville Farm Museum, Coopersville Michigan on: August & September Annually
Sponsored by: Coopersville Farm Museum

Reviewer: LeeAnn Creager

This two month long exhibit of quilts was displayed like a museum exhibit rather then your traditional weekend quilt show. Each quilt is displayed next to the story behind the quilt. Cotton gloves are handed to each guest as they enter this bright new building. The lighting, the warmth, the mood, the feel of this show is far more then any of us ever imagined. Quilters everywhere raved about what a nice show it was. Can't wait for the 2004 show to be underway!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Those Fabulous Quilts! Coopersville Michigan

Held at: Coopersville Farm Museum, Coopersville Michigan on: August & September Annually
Sponsored by: Coopersville Farm Museum

Reviewer: LeeAnn Creager

This two month long exhibit of quilts was displayed like a museum exhibit rather then your traditional weekend quilt show. Each quilt is displayed next to the story behind the quilt. Cotton gloves are handed to each guest as they enter this bright new building. The lighting, the warmth, the mood, the feel of this show is far more then any of us ever imagined. Quilters everywhere raved about what a nice show it was. Can't wait for the 2004 show to be underway!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Majors Inn

Held at: Gilbertsville, NY on: Oct 4 & 5, 2003
Sponsored by: Majors Inn Foundation

Reviewer: Liz Freed

This is not the biggest show I've been to, but its certainly the best. The quilts are beautifully displayed throughout the inn, and the $5.00 lunch was excellent. The friendly atmosphere made it relaxing and enjoyable. Well worth the trip!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Original Sewing & Quilt Expo

Held at: Minneapolis, MN on: Novermber 4, 5 & 6, 2003
Sponsored by: Unknown

Reviewer: Verna Roelke

Original Sewing & Quilt Expo was a truly awesome experience. I have been to the Minnesota Quilt Show and this show is just as great--and it's right in Minneapolis every year! There were a lot of really interesting vendors, and the classes were great this year. There were 100s of quilts on display in the ballroom, which was truly amazing. The staff was very helpful, and the hotel is always very clean and accomodating. For the price--this was a great value and I recommend it to all Minnesota quilters.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Original Sewing & Quilt Expo

Held at: Minneapolis, MN on: Novermber 4, 5 & 6, 2003
Sponsored by: Unknown

Reviewer: Verna Roelke

Original Sewing & Quilt Expo was a truly awesome experience. I have been to the Minnesota Quilt Show and this show is just as great--and it's right in Minneapolis every year! There were a lot of really interesting vendors, and the classes were great this year. There were 100s of quilts on display in the ballroom, which was truly amazing. The staff was very helpful, and the hotel is always very clean and accomodating. For the price--this was a great value and I recommend it to all Minnesota quilters.

Overall Rating: Excellent


International Quilt Show in Houston

Held at: Brown's Convention Center Houston Texas on: November 2002
Sponsored by: Several

Reviewer: Fran Eady

Every year my quilt guild, Southern Samplers of Ponchatoula, La., goes to the Houston show. We charter a bus and take anyone from our guild and anyone who wants to ride for a fee. I am the bus coordinator and the aka Bag Lady. Our guild lives to go to Houston. All year long we constantly say,"this year in Houston I'm buying whatever." It is a fabulous tribute to the art of quilting and we simply don't miss a year to go! We've been going a good thirteen years. It is our sincere thanks to everyone who is responsible for it's existance.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Busy Bee Quilt Show

Held at: Snohomish High School, Snohomish, Washington on: July 25th - July 27th, 2003
Sponsored by: Busy Bee Quilt Guild

Reviewer: Gabe Fisher

This show may be a small one (200 quilts?) but it is awesome!!! Quilts of all sizes and made using all methods. Wonderful staff who take care of you, the customer, and the quilts on display. Don't even think you can touch a quilt without your disposable glove on!!! Quilt authors present for questioning. Wonderful stories behind a lot of the quilts. Vendors present with great show bargains. Fresh baked cookies for a donation. Again, this is a small show in a small town but it packs a punch!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Something Old, Something New

Held at: Gilbertsville, NY on: October 4-6, 2002
Sponsored by: The Major's Inn Foundation

Reviewer: Lisa Brady

What a beautiful show with a large variety of quilts- over 100. Many antique quilts present along with pieces from newer quiltors. The food was very good and the atmosphere of the historic Inn adds to the ambiance. This was a very enjoyable show.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Wings Falls Quilt Show

Held at: Glen Falls, NY on: June 2003
Sponsored by: Wing Falls Quilt Guild

Reviewer: Jean

I find this show to be very good for several reasons. The number one is the quality of the quilts at the show - exceptional skills put to the test. A very nice and well rounded assortment of vendors from the Tri-State region. One did not feel crowded when viewing the quilts or the vendors booth. The only disappointment is the lack of quality food - sorry ladies! perhaps bring in a professional caterer next year. It's worth the drive plus you have all the natural beauty that the Adirondacks has to offer.

Overall Rating: Very Good


A Festival of Quilts

Held at: Heritage Park Calgary Alberta on: May 24-25

Reviewer: Angela Squire

This is an annual event that I make every effort not to miss. There are upwards of 700 quilts displayed. The Park might be a bit overwhelming for those who have to walk for a long time but motor scooters and wheelchairs are permitted and the vast majority of the displays are accessible from the ground floor. The vendors are always friendly and the displays always impress me. The park has it's own attractions so the family always comes along. Parking can be daunting but for a small fee you can ride the old trolley up to the gate. Worth it? Well, I never miss it.

Overall Rating: Excellent


The Quilt and Sewing Festival

Held at: Myrtle Beach, SC on: April 24 thru 26, 2003
Sponsored by: Mancusso Show Management

Reviewer: Lynne Martelli

I was a vendor at this show and had a wonderful time from beginning to end. I could not have had a more positive experience. As soon as I arrived the staff made sure my booth was in running order. If there was a problem the staff fixed it in a matter of minutes. Also, David Mancusso paid special attention to what was being offered from our booth to the customer. Thank you for your interest! Martelli Enterprise is new to the sewing industry and our Company has excited a lot of quilters and sewers. It was great to meet everyone at the show and to see their excitement about our products. This could not have been such a hit without Mancusso Management's team work. Thank You!

Overall Rating: Excellent


AQS Quilt Show

Held at: Paducah, KY on: April 2003
Sponsored by: AQS

Reviewer: Linda Rott from Lodi WI

The second year that my husband and I have attended the show in Paducah.....fantastic both times.
This year my husband saw a wooden sewing cabinet display near the food court that we are interested in visitine via the internet. Unfortunately, neither memory nor the show booklet has the name of the vendor who carries cabinets. My husband thought they were from CA, but we can't locate them or find the name of the company. Can anyone HELP us remember?
Thanks!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Redlands Heritage Home Tour & Quilt Show

Held at: Redlands, California on: May 10, 2003

Reviewer: Jessica Carr

The weather was gorgeous and made viewing the outdoor quilt displays a real treat. Several of the quilters were on hand to discuss their quilts - fascinating! I would suggest skipping the homes tour since the lines are very, very long and extremely slow moving. The homes are also very cramped and the ticket price a bit steep. You can view the outdoor quilt displays for free.

Overall Rating: Good


McMinn county Living Heritage Museum 2lst Annual Qilt Competition and Show

Held at: McMinn Count Museum Athens Tennessee on: May 10 - June 30 2003
Sponsored by: The Heritage Quilt Guild

Reviewer: Pat Harvey

2lst annual show was bigger and better than ever approx 200 quilts on three levels many antique qiuilts are inclued.Quilts of all sizes have been entered. There are clases available and the show highlight will be on June l2 a 50 minute hstorical video "Undergrond Railroad Sampler" $2.00 per person Hours Monday - Friday 10 Am - 5PM Saturday 10 - 4

Overall Rating: Excellent


AQS 2003

Held at: Paducah, KY on: April 23-26, 2003
Sponsored by: AQS

Reviewer: Cyndi Culpepper

This was my first trip to the Paducah show since they enlarged the facility. What a wonderful upgrade! It certainly provides more breathing room in the exhibit halls. I was surprised (and pleased) to see so many brightly colored quilts--with traditional patterns. As for vendors, I particularly enjoyed the Cotton's booth--what a novel approach to quilting. (Reversible quilts that are completely done [quilt as you go] on the machine using a fold and stitch technique--very cool.) I also liked Vogie's for the demo and patterns for chenille throws and pillows. As usual, Hancock's was a madhouse, but that's okay because I usually come back in the summer to do my real shopping there. At Kentucky Oaks Mall, we spent a lot of time (and money) at Bits and Pieces (I love their kits--I have bought about 7 over the last couple of years) and at another booth (the name escapes me) where the owner demonstrated the use of Mary Ellen Johnson's circle cutter. Saw it, loved it, had to have it--bought it! I really enjoy this show and am looking forward to the AQS Expo in August in Nashville at the Opryland Hotel. (I live outside of Nashville.) I've registered for some classes there and can't wait!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Indiana Heritage Quilt Show

Held at: Bloomington Convention Center on: March 6 -8 2003
Sponsored by: Local Guild

Reviewer: Lisa King

Over 200 quilts displayed beautifully. Easy to view. Lots of room to roam. Many vendors to answer questions on products, material, patterns and notiions. A couple of nice thread vendors with plenty of information.

Lunch was reasonably priced and available during the day in an area atttached to the Convention Center. Many classes were available.

Excellent experience. I would attend again without hesitation.

Overall Rating: Very Good


Williamsburg Quilt Fest

Held at: Williamsburg, VA on: February 2003
Sponsored by: Mancuso Brothers

Reviewer: Beth

Shows seems to have out grown space, needs new venue and new look. Perhaps Va Bch area. Vendors had almost same samples as past 3 years, hoped to see a new look at up an coming quilting ideas. Witnessed a vendor screaming at a customer, that wasn't very pleasant, heard several friends say they also had bad experience. Hope next year will be more productive

Overall Rating: Fair


"Third Time's a Charm" Fort Bend Quilt Guild Show

Held at: Fort Bend County Fair Grounds, Rosenberg, Texas on: February 21-22, 2003
Sponsored by: Ft. Bend Quilt guild

Reviewer: Karen Alexander

A wonderful small quilt show, on the fair grounds. Featured lovely quilts by the guild and others, great raffle and giveaways, and vendors from around the state. Worth the trip!

Overall Rating: Very Good


Panguitch Quilt Walk

Held at: Panguitch, Utah on: 2nd weekend in June

Reviewer: Michele Reese

Thisis one of the best shows & Learning opportunities I have ever been part of. The entier town becomes the backdrop for the show. All the community organizations sponsor activities from parades, home tours of some wonderful, historic homes, pancake breakfasts, craft shows, trunk shows and more. In addition, and of course the best part is a first rate quilt show and bazzar plus three days and evenings of well-known instructors and classes. My sister and I left with three nearly completed projects and had a wonderful time.
I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a friendly, homey town and a fabulous quilting experience.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Quilt O

Held at: Gettsburg, Pennsylvania on: August 1-4, 2002

Reviewer: Linda Bowlin

I love this quilt show! I have attended Quilt Odyssey since its inception, watching it grow and improve each year. The first year I was amazed at the quality of the quilts in the contest and each year it gets even better! The instructors have consistently been nationally known, with a wide variety of choices in classes and lectures from which to choose. The shopping is always great at the vendor mall! The vendors are always ready to help you find that special supply or book you've been looking for! The rooms at the Eisenhower Inn are quite comfortable and the staff is very welcoming, responsive and friendly. It is so convenient to be able to wheel your sewing machine and supplies to class and go back to your room for that forgotten supply! There is a convenient shuttle service that operates from the quilt show to the hotel and parking lots, although I enjoy the short walk. One rainy afternoon the shuttle driver even delived each passenger to their own car so they could stay out of the rain! The food at the inn is excellent and the wait staff adds to the friendly atmosphere. There is also a deli in the inn, serving simple fare, where you can preorder your lunch, to give you more time to shop. I've had the opportunity to share meals with instructors and vendors who consistently speak very highly of the Quilt Odyssey staff and quality of the students. Any problems I've noticed (and we all realize that problems will arise when you have this many people coming together) have been handled quickly by both the Quilt Odyssey staff and the Eisenhower Inn staff, and changes made to prevent reoccurance in the future. What I feel really sets this show apart from the rest is the strong feeling of community that Missy and her staff have created-just like going to my guild meeting. Everyone is always so friendly and helpful! I look forward to going back in August and catching up with my Quilt Odyssey friends! According to the web site, the class list for Quilt Odyssey 2003 will be available on-line January 31, 2003.

Overall Rating: Excellent


quilter's odyssey

Held at: Gettysburg, PA. on: Aug. 1st. thru Aug 4th 2002

Reviewer: Maggie MacArthur

The show was awesome is all I can say. the teachers the organization of the whole thing the location and the fact that you could bring your whole family and they would have something to do.
I am anxious to go back next year. the layout where the quilts were displayed the vendors mall, the Eisenhower Inn all were very very good. The teachers were excellent.

Overall Rating: Excellent


QUILTS ON THE GRAND 2002

Held at: DeltaPlex, Grand Rapids, MI on: Sept. 20-21, 2002
Sponsored by: West Michigan Quilters Guild

Reviewer: Gail Myrhorodsky

What a great show! The quilts were astoundingly wonderful...over 300 were hung in this huge, well lit show room. The quality of work was first class, many special exhibits like from Sister Cities in Japan and Australia, past national award winners which included a fantastic display by Barb Perrin and BethAnn Williams. The vendors were the best, food exceptional, and lots of demonstrations. I highly recommend putting this biennial event on your calendar for October 2004!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Quilt Odyssey

Held at: Gettysburg, PA on: August
Sponsored by: Quilt Odyssey

Reviewer: Joan Unkel

I have attended the Quilt Odyssey conference since it began three years ago. I have found this conference to be among the best I have ever attended. The classes offered are taught by outstanding teachers and the subjects are nicely balanced for beginning and experienced quilters alike. The rooms are very comfortable and most convenient to the classes that are held in the conference rooms in the inn itself. In those three years the staff of the inn has been most courteous and helpful. Any unforeseen circumstances have been met with concern, flexibility, and timely actions. The Quilt Odyssey staff has always been courteous, helpful, and very patient.
And the quilt show is wonderful, filled with beauty and inspiration. The vendors bring diverse and enticing products as well as a willingness to share their expertise.
A shuttle service among the inn, sports complex, and parking lots is quite useful. It was very hot and I can certainly empathize with the frustration that attendees felt about the air conditioning. I'm not knowledgeable enough to understand how a transformer problem might have been pre-planned for but I understand that the management of the inn immediately began working on the problem and continued to do so until it was solved.
The food in the sports complex is casual fare. The hot dog I had this year was very good. The restaurant in the inn has excellent food served in a lovely atmosphere. There is also a deli that serves lighter fare.
I'm really sorry that the experience of visitors who attended for one day to see the quilt show and visit the vendors was so adversely affected by the heat and mechanical problems. Problems at conferences do happen despite conscientious management and careful planning. In the initial three years Quilt Odyssey has had very few because, I believe, both the Odyssey staff and the inn's management have worked so very hard to foresee potential difficulties. I can't think of another quilt conference that I've attended that has been better planned or more thoroughly organized. I'm planning to return again in August next year.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Quiltfest: Celebrate Our American Spirit (A Tribute to 9/11)

Held at: Shreveport Convention Hall on: September 27-29th
Sponsored by: Red River Quilters (local guild)

Reviewer: Nicole McNeill

This was a wonderful show, not only did it have almost 200 quilts from the guild members themselves, it also had two very special exhibits, several vendors and it was also held the opening weekend of the big art festival that is held every year (Red River Revel). The special exhibits were amazing, they had the quilts from the exhibit America from the Heart, and they had Dr. Don Locke and his quilt of The Last Supper. Both were extraordinaey. They had a wide range of vendors, some local and some from other states. The show was well organized, had alot of space between not only the quilts, but also the vendors; never felt cramped. They gave out door prizes, and had a beautiful raffle quilt that was a log cabin flag with a gold eagle quilted on it. Terrific show I highly recommend if you are in the area that time of year to go to their show you won't be dissappointed.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Quilt Odyssey 2002

Held at: Gettysburg, PA on: August 1-4, 2002
Sponsored by: Quilt Odyssey

Reviewer: Adeline Rieger

After reading Missy's response to Cheryl's review, I feel the need to add my two cents worth about Quilt Odyssey 2002 held a month ago.

Missy (Show organizer) has her own trouble with the "facts," and completely missed the point: the conditions at the exhibits/vendors mall were inhumane and dangerous to the health of those attending/working there in the extreme heat and humidity. One attendee exited the building and fainted at the shuttle bus stop.

Yes, my friend and I, who had taken a legal day off from work and paid the admission fee, had the misfortune to be there on opening day, but the same occurrence happened at Quilt Odyssey 2000 and 2001 at the same location: no air conditioning in the hall for whatever reason. When lightening strikes the same place three times, it's time to move elsewhere or to schedule the show for a different month, and that certainly IS the responsibility of show management and IS under its complete control. The heck with promises, get it writing and deduct $$$ if AC is not provided!

The day after this year's visit to Odyssey, I e-mailed my thoughts about the show to Missy and received no reply whatsoever. Further, no one offered us water or a free return visit, and a staff member (not sure whether with the hotel complex or the show itself)did deny that there was a problem when we questioned her.

We are veteran quilt enthusiasts and quilters who enjoy attending shows and shopping merchant malls at shows. We had looked forward to QO 2002, and were very disappointed not to be able to stand at each quilt, study it, and move through the exhibits in reasonable comfort. We also looked forward to road testing sewing machines because both of us are in the market for a new one, and to purchasing the latest tools, fabrics, books, and patterns. In fact, it was pure torture to try and see the quilts and shop the vendor mall while being baked in an uninsulated aluminum box. We simply could not concentrate enough to participate fully in activities a paying customer can reasonably expect to engage in at a show = another point Missy doesn't seem to get, having nothing to do with "understanding" on the part of the attendees.

QO 2002 was a first for me: I did not purchase anything at the vendor mall due to my inability to think straight. My friend purchased a pattern and an half-yard of beaded trim (meanwhile, I went across the aisle and enjoyed another vendor's fan . . .).

As much as the attendees suffered, it was worse for vendors because they could not leave their booths, and because it was hotter in the booths than in the aisles. Several vendors were well known to us, and they were not happy with the conditions nor the lack of sales. All vendors invested large sums of both money and time, and deserve a rebate for the first day's booth rent, and a gold medal for being so pleasant anyway.

POSITIVES: The two ladies from the Philly area with whom we shared a terrible lunch and great company; great conversations with quilters waiting in the ONE line (45 min.) for placing an order for lunch, and then later conversations with quilters waiting in another line for using a toilet in the ONE ladies room; the number and variety of vendors from near and far; the quilt exhibits which included some teachers' quilts; and the triple fruit-flavored popsicle that enabled me to endure the far walk to our car at the end of the day - a treat my friend purchased at the hall. Several members of our quilt guild attended classes, and really enjoyed them.

I believe I made the most of my visit to QO this year and in past years (I NEVER have a bad time at a quilt show!). I'm likely to give Quilt Odyssey 2003 a try if any one of the following occur: 1.) it's held in January; 2.) it's held at a new location; or 3.) there's a cold wave in August in Gettysburg.

Sincerely,

Adeline Rieger

Overall Rating: Poor


Little Balkans Quilt show

Held at: Pittsburg Kansas on: Aug. 31, and Sept. 1
Sponsored by: Little Balkans Quilt guild

Reviewer: Peyton Kessler

This show was great! I went not only as a vendor but as a first time goer also! They had the traveling Hoffman challenge, a great selection of different types of quilts, and it was very well organized! Ladies and gentlemen who helped with this show need a pat on the back. The area was in conjunction with other downtown festivities, and the floor layout was great. No congestion and was easy to get around. I would recommend the drive to see it!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Quilt Odyssey 2002

Held at: Gettysburg, PA on: August 1-4,2002
Sponsored by: Quilt Odyssey

Reviewer: Missy

It's a shame that Cheryl had a bad time at QO2002, but some of her facts are wrong. Yes, it was hot on Thursday - 87 degrees inside - and 106 degrees outside (a record for Gettysburg). The transformer died on Thursday at 3pm. Unfortunately, when the electricity went out, so did the PA system, so we couldn't announce that the show was closed. Instead, the staff went around to all those who attended and told them that the show had been closed. We gave everyone there the right to come back another day of their choosing for free. We gave out water to everyone and had numerous chairs as well as two living room arrangements with sofas and armchairs in the exhibit area for people to rest as comfortably as possible. The merchants told us that even after the power went out, they continued to make sales. And at no time did any staff member deny that there was a problem. The fact is that the Allstar management has made promises to adequately air condition the exhibit hall. But they didn't foresee the transformer burning up this year and the excessive heat outside which exacerbated the inside temperature. There are some factors which are beyond our control. Friday, unfortunately, it took most of the day for the A/C to try to catch up because the electric company finished installing a new transformer at about 5am. I wish I could publish the thank-yous from the merchants and attendees alike who understood and made the best of the situation. Cheryl doesn't mention the great merchants mall or the quality of the wonderful contest quilts or the antique collection of 50 quilts this year as well as the special exhibit, From the Hearts of Children, which were quilts made by children in response to 9/11, or the ABC Quilt Project which made more than 130 quilts for at-risk babies during QO2002. Most merchants' evaluations told me that their sales were up this year. I'm sorry that Cheryl didn't give us a chance and return to see that Saturday and Sunday weren't as bad.

Overall Rating:


Material Girls

Held at: Chesterton, Indiana on: August 3, 2002
Sponsored by: Material Girls

Reviewer: Marian Herndon

I just happened to run into this quilt show while visiting this quaint town for the annual art show. What a nice surprise, the quilts were hung along remodeled train cars and the fund raiser raffle quilt was beautiful. There was no fee to view the quilts so buying a raffle ticket to benefit a local agency was a wonderful idea. I heard they raised over $1400.00 for Hilltop House of Porter County. Even though the weather was quite steamy, the arrangement they used to display items was great. Oh, the quilt shop, Crazy Eighths is darling, a must see. My friend that was with me doesn't sew and now wants to start quilting after seeing the shop. Overhearing people talk about the wonderful display of projects that this quilt shop has makes me want to travel this way once a month to shop. They had area businesses display some of the quilts, which gave us an opportunity to visit antique and other shops in their town. Such a small group of women and such wonderful works of art. Wonderful job MATERIAL GIRLS, I'll definitely be stopping by next year.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Gettysburg Quilt Odyssey

Held at: Gettysburg, PA on: Aug 1 - 4
Sponsored by: Quilt Odyssey

Reviewer: Cheryl

Hard to review it objectively because the first day was a disaster. Air conditioning was on the fritz, thousands of 50-60 year old women fanning themselves, sweating profusely, exhausted, impatient -- EXTREMELY long lines for the restrooms and food, and facing dehydration because of the long lines for bottled water. there were very few chairs, the food concession was like a school cafeteria, and there was no other options for food, as the hall was a LONG walk from the convention hotel.
The merchants were very troubled -- said it had been the same way last year, but that promises were made that it would be better this year. Said that other shows this summer had more people and decent working conditions. I heard that several left to search for a store that would have enough fans to bring back for themselves and other booths too. Several told me "NEVER AGAIN!" -- and I quite agree. I think that anyone who attended yesterday should receive her/his money back along with a sincere apology.
I left MUCh earlier than I'd planned, as I was exhausted by the heat, hungry, headachy and had to go to the bathroom. Women were complaining everywhere, but no one could seem to get a grasp on exactly what the problem was and several of the Odyssey folks denied that there WAS a problem! The electricity went out TOTALLY by about 2 p.m. and the merchants had a heck of a time making sales during that time, without their computers or lights for their displays. (apparently no back up electrical system).
I resent very much that the management of the convention center and the ODyssey management allowed people to continue entering (the whole front of the convention hall was fine -- no a.c. problem at the ticket booth, so visitors wouldn't know on their own how bad a situation it was) and never once addressed the crowd about the obvious problem. SOMEONE made lots of money from thousands of women and from a huge number of merchants.
If this were a sporting event with mostly men, I think that these terrible conditions would have not been tolerated.
My FIRST big show, and it was a TERRIBLE experience.

Overall Rating: Poor


Minnesota Quilters

Held at: St. Cloud, MN on: June 13,14,15,2002

Reviewer: Deb Zeman

The show was quite impressive. Lots of quilts divided into 2 sections, judged and non-judged. Quality, variety and quantity were impressive. Large number of vendors from all over the U.S. with a variety of items. Classes and lectures were top notch and included Bethany Reynolds, Roberta Horton, Bonnie Lehman and many other well-known quilters. Transportation to and from the show to various motels was well co-ordinated and much appreciated. A show worhty of national recognition.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Barnswallow Quilt and Craft Show

Held at: Morden, Manitoba, Canada on: May 5,6,7 2002
Sponsored by: Quilters Corner

Reviewer: Sally Unrau

For those of you who admire the traditional patterns and stitching,This show has a large amount of hand quilted pieces
This area of Canada, has strong skills in both the
applique and hand stitching that was on display.

Overall Rating: Excellent


AQS Show in KY

Held at: Peduka on: April 23-27
Sponsored by: AQS

Reviewer: Mary J

The show this year was wonderful. The quilts as always were wonderful but the added space in which we could view them was the best thing of all. I have attended the show for the past 10 years and stood shoulder to shoulder with many a fellow quilter. This year was soooo much better and all those venders!!!!!

I do have an answer for CHAR SILLS - the booth she was asking about was: (taken from their card)
Solid Oak Curios, Benches, etc.
Kerry's Kollectibles 1220 Industrial Dr., New Braunfels, TX. 78130 (830)629-3922 email: [email protected]
I hope you get the curio of your dreams!! (You could get me one while your at it. Enjoy

Overall Rating: Excellent


AQS Show in KY

Held at: Peduka on: April 23-27
Sponsored by: AQS

Reviewer: Mary J

The show this year was wonderful. The quilts as always were wonderful but the added space in which we could view them was the best thing of all. I have attended the show for the past 10 years and stood shoulder to shoulder with many a fellow quilter. This year was soooo much better and all those venders!!!!!

I do have an answer for CHAR SILLS - the booth she was asking about was: (taken from their card)
Solid Oak Curios, Benches, etc.
Kerry's Kollectibles

Overall Rating:


Redlands Historical Society Home Tour & Quilt Show

Held at: Redlands, CA on: May 18, 2002
Sponsored by: Redlands Historical Society & Citrus Belt Quilters

Reviewer: Mary Aslanis

First annual home tour & quilt show in Redlands. Dynamic presentation of old, new, traditional and genuine civil war quilts in a charming setting. Five heritage homes and gardens were decorated with quilts by CBQ members. 550 quilts were on display.

In addition, genuine Civil War quilts were on display in the Lincoln Shrine. Quilts were waving in the breezes -- hung from clothesline strung between the trees. In addition, quilts were hung in the Joslyn Senior Center. A few vendors, a boutique and a display of community service projects rounded out the show.

Don Beld, the only male quilter of CBQ, handpieced a reproduction of Ozella's Voices blocks, as presented in "Hidden in Plain View". This quilt was the opportunity quilt (raffle) for CBQ.

A group of Civil War Re-enactors livened the park with their talents and history re-creation.

The public response was fantastic, and the weather could not have been more cooperative.

CBQ is already planning for May 10, 2003.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Northland Guild and Nitetime Needlers

Held at: Kansas City MO on: May 3-5 2002
Sponsored by: Metro North Mall

Reviewer: June Buszta

The Northland Guild of Kansas City Mo and it's sister guild The Nitetime Needlers held their 20th anniversary show May 3-5 2002. It was a small show but the quality and talent of both guilds is impressive. Both guilds had opportunity quilts that the public purchased tickets for. There also was a miniature auction which Natalie Moultrie of Channel 9 news auctioneered. The money is donated to Cancer Action of Kansas City.They had a viewers choice election for large and small quilts and the Nitetime group had a China Challenge to go along with the 20th anniversary show.

Overall Rating: Very Good


International quilt show

Held at: Paducah, KY on: April 23rd - 28th

Reviewer: Char Sills

The show was wonderful, but I am trying to get information on a vendor at the show. The vendor had storage chests made of glass and oak. They were made to safely store quilts while still being able to display them to visitors in your home. I was not able to get a business card. I would like to order a few of their chests for myself and for gifts to a few quilters we know. Can you help me get this vendors name and telephone number? I heard they were from Texas but I am not sure.

Overall Rating: Excellent


Silver Threads

Held at: North Kingston Rhode Island on: April 20th adn 21st
Sponsored by: Narragansett Bay Quilters Association

Reviewer: Dotty Calvano

This was our show in Celebration of our 25th anniversary of our guild; NBQA. The quanity and quality of this years entrants was outstanding. Two days of fun and excitement was had by all in attendance. The total number of visitors exceeded all past shows.

Many thanks to those who displayed their tresures of craftmanship. Thanks must also go to all who voluntered of their time in order to make this such a memorable event.

Overall Rating: Excellent


"Mountainfest Quilt Show"

Held at: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee on: March 13-17, 2002
Sponsored by: Local Guild

Reviewer: Wanda Ingram

This was the eight annual show and the quality of the actual quilts in the show has gone downhill each year. The vendors are great; there are some wonderful lecturers/instructors; great area quilt shops; great shopping; and other attractions. However, the quilt show is based on the public's vote. CLEARLY, the quilt that won in 2001 was not the prettiest OR the best constructed quilt. . . we (three friends and myself) believe that quilt won simply because the quilt's owner had lots of family/friends in the area and they came by SEVERAL times during the day and voted on the quilt. This was easily done because there was no charge to get into the show. Our suggestion is: Since they bring in SEVERAL professional quilters (Mary Ellen Hopkins, Carol Doak, Linda Cantrell, Eleanor Burns, etc.) for lectures/workshops, why not let them judge the quilts the night before the show starts? OR, charge a minimal amount to get into the show, this way folks won't be as apt to come in several times a day to vote on a friend's/family member's quilt. Also, the quilts are neither judged nor juried. So, anyone can send in anything and it will be in the show. We didn't even stay to see the winner of this year's (2002) show.
We love going to Pigeon Forge during this time of year. But, we're afraid that if the quilt show committee doesn't make some much-needed changes, it may not last much longer. If you ever go to Pigeon Forge, Tennessee be SURE to visit "The Cherry Pit" quilt shop in Sevierville (which is only a couple of miles north of Pigeon Forge). It's a GREAT shop!

Overall Rating: Poor


"Mountainfest Quilt Show"

Held at: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee on: March 13-17, 2002
Sponsored by: Local Guild

Reviewer: Wanda Ingram

This was the eight annual show and the quality of the actual quilts in the show has gone downhill each year. The vendors are great; there are some wonderful lecturers/instructors; great area quilt shops; great shopping; and other attractions. However, the quilt show is based on the public's vote. CLEARLY, the quilt that won in 2001 was not the prettiest OR the best constructed quilt. . . we (three friends and myself) believe that quilt won simply because the quilt's owner had lots of family/friends in the area and they came by SEVERAL times during the day and voted on the quilt. This was easily done because there was no charge to get into the show. Our suggestion is: Since they bring in SEVERAL professional quilters (Mary Ellen Hopkins, Carol Doak, Linda Cantrell, Eleanor Burns, etc.) for lectures/workshops, why not let them judge the quilts the night before the show starts? OR, charge a minimal amount to get into the show, this way folks won't be as apt to come in several times a day to vote on a friend's/family member's quilt. Also, the quilts are neither judged nor juried. So, anyone can send in anything and it will be in the show. We didn't even stay to see the winner of this year's (2002) show.
We love going to Pigeon Forge during this time of year. But, we're afraid that if the quilt show committee doesn't make some much-needed changes, it may not last much longer. If you ever go to Pigeon Forge, Tennessee be SURE to visit "The Cherry Pit" quilt shop in Sevierville (which is only a couple of miles north of Pigeon Forge). It's a GREAT shop!

Overall Rating: Poor


American Heritage Quilt Show

Held at: Wellsville Tabernacle, Wellsville, Utah on: 27 July-August 4, 2001
Sponsored by: Utah's Festival of the American West

Reviewer: Mary L. Maughan

In the historic Wellsville Tabernacle, over 80 quilts were displayed in several catagories. It was great fun to browse through the rooms, with easy access to everything. A wonderful day! Easy parking, lots of vendors, relaxed atmosphere. Thank you to the Festival of the American West and to the many organizers of the show!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival

Held at: Williamsburg Va., on: 02/18-23/02
Sponsored by: Mancuso

Reviewer: Sandra J. Poyant

We enjoyed the show tremendously. The shuttle bus was great
The Bus really eliminated parking problems. My husband really enjoyed the many historical
venues in the area. The ability of my husband being occupied allowed my daughter and I to take our
time in the many,many exhibits.
On the critical side I hope there will be some thought/planning to better locate the quilt displays
so that they are grouped together and not scattered on walls among vendor areas.
I'd like to also mention that the HEAT was VERY UNCOMFORTABLE in the quilt roon
at the Williamsburg Marriot and hopefully the hotel or the appropriate person will correct it for future shows.
Finally the FIBER ARTS FESTIVAL was a huge DISAPOINTMENT! It was POOR in terms of display,set-up,vendors,location. Many,many,many
of my friends,and associates simply BOLTED out of this venue-POOR<and worse occurs to me at this point.
In TOTAL my daughter and I had an OUTSTANDING time (and we traveled 700 miles to be here) and we'd probably return again. The show was EXCELLENT for quilts and wearable arts. Sandy Poyant

Overall Rating: Good


Mid Atlantic Quilt Festival XIII

Held at: Williamsburg, Virginia on: February 21-24, 2002
Sponsored by: Peter and David Mancuso

Reviewer: Eugenia Kraft

I didn't even get to see this show! When I arrived
at the site at 10:30 AM on Thursday, February 21,
the closest parking was already over a mile away!
Attendees were having to park along streets not really
wide enough to accomodate parking, and having to walk
back to the show site. The four of us were all physically
unable to walk over a mile, and then spend hours
walking around to see the quilts, so we had to head
back home - 85 miles away. I don't understand why
Mancuso would place a show where there is so little
parking. My rating reflects my disgust with all the
effort we expended to try to attend this show.

Overall Rating: Poor


Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival XIII

Held at: Williamsburg, Virginia on: Feb.21-24, 2002
Sponsored by: David & Peter Mancuso

Reviewer: Sharon Jackson

This is the 13th show in Williamsburg, and the management still haven't figured out that they need to have more parking available for the ever-increasing crowds. But Williamsburg isn't famous for having ample parking for anything--the quilts themselves were divided into 2 divisions;full and wall quilts. They were then catagorized into innovative and traditional--that's it! There were 134 full quilts and 40 wall quilts. It's amazing to me that the vendors get the best space in the building--in the center of the room--while the quilts in the show are reduced to being hung on the walls, and down small corridors. The best of them all were overlooked, or not displayed very well. I heard a lot of comments of surprise over which quilts were awarded top honors. This is my 21st show,and if I didn't live close by, I'm not sure if I would continue coming. Worst of all was the fact that we were all jammed(literally) into a space that was much too small for the large number of vendors present. If anyone had yelled "fire!" we would have had serious trouble.

Overall Rating: Fair


Road To California

Held at: Ontario, CA, USA on: January 19-20

Reviewer: Christy Chapman

WOW!! I'm not sure I'm qualified to rate since this was my first show, but was I blown away by the talant. There were so many different types of quilts and garments. A friend that I hadn't seen for a while and I were chatting and catching up when we walked by the Best In Show Quilt and we were litterally speachless for at least 10 minutes. There were also a lot of venders. I'm already looking forward to next year!

Overall Rating: Excellent


Older Show Reviews

 World Wide Quilting Page * Quilt Shows page